The time has come to raise the minimum wage in New Hampshire! In 2011, NH repealed our minimum wage law. The state is now one of 21 states that defaults to the federal minimum wage of $7.25 an hour, the only one in New England. While the economy has recovered since the recession, the minimum wage has not been raised in over 10 years. Last year a bill to raise the minimum wage was vetoed by Governor Sununu.
We are surrounded by states with a higher minimum wage:
Vermont – $10.96
Rhode Island – $10.50
Connecticut – $11.00
New Hampshire – $7.25
This year, two minimum wage bills are currently making their way through the legislature.
Minimum Wage Bills
HB 731: Establishing a state minimum wage and providing for adjustments to the minimum wage. HB 731 raises the wage to $8.50-2020, $10.60-2021, $11.70-2022, $12.80-2023, $13.90- 2024, $15.00-2025.
HB 731 as amended by the Senate Commerce Committee and passed by the Senate raises the minimum wage to $10 per hour from January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2022 and $12 per hour in 2023.
SB 410: Relative to the state minimum hourly rate. SB410 raises the wage to $10.00-2021, $12.00-2023
Paid Family and Medical Leave
HB 712: Relative to a family and medical leave insurance program.
With HB 712, workers can take time off to care for a loved one, and this extends to an individual who needs time to deal with his or her health. Workers would receive up to 12 weeks of leave, and they would contribute 0.5% from payroll deduction to fund the benefit.
How can you help?
- Sign up to receive legislative updates and bills to support.
- Write a letter to the editor of your local newspaper.
- Ask your State Representatives and State Senators to vote YES on HB 731 and HB 712.
- Contact Governor Sununu and ask him to sign into law legislation to raise the minimum wage and paid leave.